Mirzoyev in Edinburgh & York

    In the ancient St Giles' High Kirk of Edinburgh Alexander Fiseisky gave a magnificent recital last August on the recent new Rieger organ, playing Bach, Cui, Messiaen, the final movements of Mirzoyev's Organ Symphony and Widor's famous Toccata.  The local organ community were heard to say that they had not heard such a magnificent recital there before.

    The Rieger organ is exceptionally fine, being considered by them to be one of the very finest that they have ever built.  It replaces the Willis III rebuild and extension of the original Harrison & Harrison four manual with a large three manual  organ that retains the pipes of the former 32ft reed and the old 16ft Open Wood, with the bottom seven pipes of the very large scale 32ft open wood.

    A few days later, after giving his delightful children's recital to the people of Dunblane at which he first played Mirzoyev's Lullaby dedicated to the children who died at Dunblane, Alexander Fiseisky gave a recital in York Minster on the theme of `Bach', beginning with Bach's Great G Minor Fantasia & Fugue, and then the double pedal chorale prelude An Wasserflüssen Babylon.  Next came Mendelssohn's Sonata No.1, and then Liszt's Fantasia & Fugue on BACH.  He concluded with the last two movements of Mirzoyev's Organ Symphony, a fugue entitled `JS Bach' and a grand requiem-like finale marked `funèbre', which he premiered in its entirety, in the UK later in the year at Westminster Abbey.  The recital, with its tremendous finale was greeted with a double ovation, the second being for Mirzoyev when he was called forward from the audience to receive its applause.

A happy stay in the Minster Close ...
and now off  to the Minster for the recital

Mirzoyev and his work were greeted enthusiastically after the recital when Alexander called him forward from the audience to receive its very warm and continued applause.

Back at the console for photographs after a very happy

Mirzoyev's CV | Mirzoyev in Dunblane | in Westminster Abbey
Notes on Organ Symphony
| on Oriental & Occidental | on High Mugam | What's New
Bridgehead Home Page | Mirzoyev Home Page  | Composers Home Page
Fiseisky Home Page
| Organs Home Page